Saturday 15 June 2024
  • La Cimbali

SCAA introducing Annual Sustainability Award for business models

Must read

  • TME - Cialdy Evo

As part of its mission, the SCAA is actively involved in sustainability and looks to its members to take leadership roles in sustainable practices within the specialty coffee sector.

With this in mind, the Sustainability Council created the Sustainability Award in 2003 to promote, encourage and honor the efforts of those serving as role models through sustainable projects in the coffee sector.

This year, the Council has created a new award to celebrate innovative business models to expand and promote sustainability within the coffee world. The award is presented in April 2017 at the Global Specialty Coffee Expo in Seattle, WA.

Award Criteria

In addition to recognizing the hard work of the individuals, businesses and organizations who created and implemented the business model, the award aims to inspire others to initiate similar endeavors.

It should be noted that the Sustainable Business Model Award is only for business models that have been implemented for 3 years or more. Products, projects, or ideas do not qualify for the award. The business model will be judged on the following four criteria:

  1. Business models that have undertaken innovative measures to include all or several aspects of social, economic and environmental sustainability. Business models that have enhanced the long-term sustainability of the coffee industry.
  2. Business models that are replicable; they can be successfully implemented in a variety of locations and contexts.
  3. Business models that are scalable; they can be successfully adapted at both larger and smaller levels of the specialty coffee industry, hence making them more easily implemented.
  4. Business models that inspire other industry members who wish to contribute toward the specialty coffee industry’s desire to achieve the targets set forth by United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Award Eligibility and Process

This annual award is open to SCAA and SCAE members. Applications must be submitted by, or on behalf of, a business model implemented for a minimum of 3 years. Individuals, organizations, businesses, farms, and cooperatives may submit applications for multiple business models.


Award Recipient Prizes

(1) Reimbursement of up to $1,000 for US-based organizations ($1,500 for international organizations) from winner’s residence to Seattle, WA for travel to the 2017 Expo

(1) Complimentary Re:co Symposium & Expo admission, and (2) Complimentary Expo admissions


Latest article

  • Franke Mytico
  • Dalla Corte