Sunday 14 July 2024
  • La Cimbali

Sca announces Christina Meinl as President and six new Directors in the Board

Must read


MILAN – The Specialty Coffee Association (SCA) yesterday announced Christina Meinl as new President and six new members of the Board of Directors. In accordance with the SCA Bylaws, the six newly-elected coffee professionals will join the board on January 1st, 2020 at which point the terms of six existing members of the advisory body will come to an end and a new president, vice president, and 2nd vice president will be appointed.

The six coffee professionals selected by SCA members to join the Board of Directors in the 2020-2021 elections are:

  • Burak Alici, CEO, QVIDTVM Inc
  • Sarina Prabasi, Co-Founder Buunni Coffee and Author, “The Coffeehouse Resistance”
  • Doreen Zankowski, Partner, Duane Morris LLP and Co-Owner/Operator of Kope Kabana
  • Konstantinos Konstantinopoulos, CEO, Coffee Island
  • David Piza, Director of National Accounts, S&D Coffee
  • Cosimo Libardo, Group CEO of Carimali Holding

SCA sends a warm congratulations to each of our new board members and a special thanks to Paul Macek, Vice President of Programs for the World Cocoa Foundation, for running in this election.

“We value the time Paul put into the nomination, interview, and election process and we look forward to our continued work with him in his existing capacity as a community leader” said the Association in a release.

Per the association’s bylaws, the following existing members of the board will take on new roles on January 1st, 2019:

  • Christina Meinl of Julius Meinl will become President
  • Colleen Anunu of Fair Trade USA will become Vice President
  • Juan Luis Barrios of Finca La Merced will become 2nd Vice President

Six members of the board will end their terms on December 31, 2019:

  • Heather Perry of Klatch Coffee, who most recently served as President
  • Andrew Hetzel of Coffee Strategies
  • Inyoung Anna Kim of LetSequoia
  • Ludovic Maillard of Maison P. Jobin & Cie
  • Sarah Leslie of Leslie Coffee Co. Stuart Ritson, Independent Coffee Consultant, will take the Barista Guild ex-officio seat.
  • Emilio Lopez Diaz of Cuatro M Single Origin Coffees. Sonja Björk Grant of Kaffibrugghúsið will take the Coffee Roasters Guild ex-officio seat.
  • Franke Mytico
  • TME - Cialdy Evo

Latest article