Home Coffee Culture SPAIN – illyc...

SPAIN – illycaffè announces the eighth edition of the illy SustainArt prize at ARCOmadrid2015

The curatorial team of #SoloProjects program selects three finalists artists for the illy Sustain Art Award. The winner will be announced at the Fair, to be held from February 25 to March 1

HMADRID – The projects of artists Angel and Fernando Poyón -Galería T20-; Lenora de Barros – Galeria Millan – and Sergio Zevallos -Galería 80m2 Livia Benavides- are the finalists of the illy Sustain Art Prize.

The award recognizes the work of a participating artist in ARCOmadrid #SoloProjects section with 15,000 euros and a participation in www.illySustainArt.org online diffusion platform.

The directors of the Solo Projects section Irene Hofmann and Lucía Sanromán and its curators, Miguel A. López, Kiki Mazzucchelli and Emiliano Valdés argue their selection commenting that “from the many talented artists in the Solo Project section this year, the curatorial team made a selection of three Finalists for the Illy Prize that each express a particularly bold, experimental, and boundary-pushing artistic practice.

Our Finalists represent two generations of artists working in a range of media. We wish to recognize and encourage the work of each of them through this nomination”.

The Prize will be delivered on the 26th of February at 5pm in the illy Sustain Art space (7H09 -Hall 7), with the presence of Carlos Urroz, director of ARCO. Jurors will be Cuauhtémoc Medina from MUAC México, João Fernandez, Assistant Director of Conservation, Research and Dissemination of Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía and Carlo Bach, director of artistic illycaffè.

illycaffè celebrates this year the eighth edition of illy Sustain Art Prize at ARCO and the fourth dedicated to #Solo Projects section, which this year will be held on three themes focusing on key ideas and areas of research and artistic production in current Latin America contemporary art: Rethinking the formalism: abstraction and vernacular sources, Legacy of Latin American avant-garde, and Performativity of gender and research practices in Latin America.

The three selected artists to participate in the illy Sustain Art Prize represents each category respectively.

The illy SustainArt Prize aims to provide visibility and networking opportunities in the online platform www.illySustainArt.org and recognize the winning artist with a cash prize of 15,000 Euros.

The award was created with the aim of spreading the company’s approach to sustainable growth in the international art community, offering opportunities for visibility in the marketplace and exchange of artists from emerging countries.

The illy SustainArt Prize at ARCO was established in 2008 recognizing in its first edition the young Brazilian artist Matheus Rocha Pitta. In its second edition, in 2009, the prize was awarded to Avinash Veeraraghavan, one of the emerging young talent from India.

The 2010 edition recognized the Mexican artist Camilo Ontiveros, and in 2011 back to a Brazilian artist, the young Andre Komatsu.

In 2012 the award went to the Chilean artist Völuspá Jarpa and in 2013 was the artist couple Julia Rometti & Victor Costales who received the award. In its latest edition the award recognized the Argentine artist Diego Bruno for his work “Location”